Ranez.Ru |  
НГПУ
Факультет Иностранных Языков

Books in English

Books in French

Books in German

Books in Italian

Books in Spanish

Изучение языков мира

 

A Gentleman in Charleston And the Manner of His Death

OZON.ru - Онлайн мегамаркет № 1

В этом разделе вы можете найти различные книги: художественную литературу и беллетристику на иностранных языках, пособия и методички, учебную и справочную литературу по изучающему языку. К вашему вниманию художественная литература на немецком и английском языке. Словари и энциклопедии. А понравившиеся издания вы можете заказать с доставкой.


Books in English / Художественная литература на английском языке / Разное

A Gentleman in Charleston And the Manner of His Death

2931.00 руб.*

William Baldwin

A Gentleman in Charleston And the Manner of His Death

Издательство:
Год издания: 2005
Код ISBN:
Формат:
Страниц: 203
Содержание:
Book DescriptionOnce deemed "the most powerful man in the South," Charleston newspaper editor Frank Dawson met his violent death in March 1889, at the hands of his neighbor, a disreputable doctor who was attempting to seduce the Dawson family governess. Drawn from events surrounding this infamous episode, the third novel from the Lillian Smith Award-winning William Baldwin pulls back the veil of a genteel society in a fabled southern city and exposes a dark visage of anger and secret pain that no amount of imposed manners could restrain, and only love might eventually heal. With a southern storyteller?s passion for intricate emotional and physical details, Baldwin, through the fictional guise of Capt. David Lawton, chronicles editor Dawson?s fated end. Having survived three years of bloody Civil War combat and the decade of violent Reconstruction that followed, the liberal-minded Lawton is now an embattled newspaperman whose national importance is on the wane. Still, he...



Другие книги из раздела

Zeno's Conscience : A Novel (Vintage International)

1840.00 руб.*

Italo Svevo

Zeno's Conscience : A Novel (Vintage International)

Book DescriptionLong hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno’s interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected–and unexpectedly happy–marriage to Ada’s homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno’s Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.
Homo Zapiens

1270.00 руб.*

Victor Pelevin

Homo Zapiens

Book DescriptionThe collapse of the Soviet Union has opened up a huge consumer market, but how do you sell things to a generation that grew up with just one type of cola? When Tatarsky, a frustrated poet, takes a job as an advertising copywriter, he finds he has a talent for putting distinctively Russian twists on Western-style ads. But his success leads him into a surreal world of spin doctors, gangsters, drug trips, and the spirit of Che Guevera, who, by way of a Ouija board, communicates theories of consumer theology. A bestseller in Russia, Homo Zapiens displays the biting absurdist satire that has gained Victor Pelevin superstar status among today's Russian youth, disapproval from the conservative Moscow literary world, and critical acclaim worldwide.
Alexander: Book 3: The Ends of the Earth

469.00 руб.*

Valerio Massimo Manfredi

Alexander: Book 3: The Ends of the Earth

Alexander's epic quest continues into the heart of Asia and on towards the mystery of India. The Macedonian Army march ever onward in search of glory, crushing resistance at every turn. The culture and beauty of Babylon is quickly ravaged and the Palace of Persepolis burnt to ashes and cinder. An empire is destroyed and a new and bloody era begins. But there are other things on Alexander's mind. An ambitious project to unite the peoples of the empire under one homeland begins to obsess him. There are rebellions and bloodshed, but the curious beauty of Queen Roxanna gives Alexander the strength to fulfill his destiny...This is a truly compelling, romantic and exciting book, and a fitting conclusion to the bestselling Alexander trilogy.
African Literature

3077.00 руб.*

Tejumola Olaniyan

African Literature

In a Nigerian newspaper, more than ten years ago, the distinguished critic, Biodun Jeyifo, lamented what he called the “homelessness” of the writings of African literary theorists and critics. This landmark anthology at long last creates a home for the key texts, bringing together work that otherwise exists only in disparate journals and essay collections, and largely inaccessible texts. Covering all genres and critical schools of literary theory, the anthology provides the intellectual context for understanding African literature. The material is organized around significant topics in the field, including feminist criticism, postmodernism, and Marxist theory, and reflects the chronological development of African literary criticism. Writings include those written by scholars with often fiercely divergent viewpoints, exemplifying the drama and excitement of debates in the field.
The Logic of a Rose: Chicago Stories

1861.00 руб.*

Billy Lombardo

The Logic of a Rose: Chicago Stories

Book DescriptionThese moving yet unsentimental stories recount scenes in the coming of age of Petey Bellapani, from age eight to adolescence, growing up in the Italian Catholic ethnic neighborhood of Bridgeport in Chicago. The scenes form powerful imagesof urban youth: A fire burns Petey?s home above a bakery. A neighborhood softball game takes an unexpected turn. And first love blooms next door and at the laundromat. The Logic of a Rose won the G.S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction, selectedby Gladys Swan.
* Указанная цена за книгу может отличаться от той, по которой продается она в онлайн-магазине Ozon.ru, партнером которого является Ranez.Ru. Администрация сайта Ranez.Ru ни коим образом не гарантирует ни цену, ни наличие этой книги на складе у продавца, равно как и возможность ее купить. На сайте Ranez.Ru представлена только информация о книге, оформление покупки, оплата и вопросы с доставкой решаются на сайте онлайн-магазина Ozon.ru.

 

 

Новые материалы

2013, Май 23
2013, Февраль 24
2012, Ноябрь 04
2012, Октябрь 11
2011, Декабрь 27
2011, Декабрь 02
2011, Ноябрь 01
2011, Октябрь 23
2011, Август 09
Все поступления

Популярное в этом месяце

Популярные статьи

Ответы на Форуме

Последние обсуждения

Понравился сайт?!

Размести ссылку на эту страницу у себя в блоге:)

 
Данный интернет-сайт носит исключительно информационный характер, и ни при каких условиях информационные материалы и цены, размещенные на сайте, не являются публичной офертой, определяемой положениями Статьи 437 ГК РФ.